#isedchat is born

Last Thursday at a CAIS (Connecticut Association of Independent Schools) Commission on Technology meeting, we had a discussion about Twitter and its impact on professional development. We also talked about where we could find some  independent school hash tags. No one really knew but I said I would look around. The meeting moved on to other topics, we wrapped up and had a wonderful dinner in the charming little town of Washington, CT. Aside from the plow truck that hit the propane line and caused us to evacuate the first restaurant we went to, we had a very relaxing night after a very productive meeting. The commission is made up of some amazing tech people who have inspired me on so many levels.

Driving home, the Twitter conversation popped back into my head. I thought about how much I have enjoyed Tuesday’s #edchat and wondered if there were such a thing for independent school tweeps.  So, when I got home, I hopped on and sent out a tweet inquiring about the hash tags. I was quickly involved in an amazing conversation with @raventech and asked specifically about any independent school chats. Others got involved in the conversation and no one really knew of a weekly chat. I threw the idea out there and a whole bunch of us began talking about what to call it, when it would happen and how we would decide on the topic each week.  It was amazing! In a matter of minutes, #isedchat was born.  Thursday evenings at 7pm EST. We agreed that twtpoll would be a great way to collect the votes on the topic each week. I solicited some topics and by noon on Friday, I had the first poll out: http://twtpoll.com/r/hb535x People were tweeting and retweeting the poll and submitting topics ideas for future chats. Thanks so much to @jonathanemartin who sent me 20 awesome chat suggestions. In the meantime, the #isedchat hashtag allowed me to connect with some outstanding independent school educators.

By Wednesday, the first week’s topic choice was very clear. 52 tweeps voted and most wanted to talk about “What does successful professional development look like at your school?” Thursday at 7pm finally arrived. It was #isedchat time!  I put the question out there… and look what happened: January 18th, 2011 Archive Just amazing!

Thanks to everyone who participated, commented, tweeted, retweeted and made this experience one of the most valuable discussions about professional development I’ve had in 20 years of teaching.

Next week’s poll is out: http://twtpoll.com/r2hwck

Vote today… and pass it on! See you on Thursday at 7pm

6 Comments

  1. […] Lorri Carroll #isedchat is born Last Thursday at a CAIS (Connecticut Association of Independent Schools) Commission on Technology meeting, we had a discussion about Twitter and its impact on professional development….Driving home, the Twitter conversation popped back into my head. I thought about how much I have enjoyed Tuesday’s #edchat and wondered if there were such a thing for independent school tweeps.  So, when I got home, I hopped on and sent out a tweet inquiring about…[MORE] […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

