What can you do with 5 minutes?

In response to the unprecedented number of snow days this year, instead of amending our school vacations or adding days to the end of the year, our Administration made the decision to add 5 minutes to each class period. The five minutes per period amounts to approximately 6.5 days of school.

When I first heard of the plan, I thought…

5 minutes…

what can you do with 5 minutes?

The more I thought about it, the more I realized that 5 minutes is enough time to do some things I’ve always wanted to do in class, if ONLY I had 5 MORE MINUTES!

So here’s my list of things I can do with the additional time:

1) Work on @NCTM ‘s problem of the day

2) Watch a video of a past topic for review from KhanAcademy or YouTube (RobbWorld channel is good too!)

3) Evaluate a website posted to our class Diigo group for our upcoming  “My Fake Wall” Mathematician project

4)  Do a PSAT problem of the day

5) Discuss Math in the News via Plus MathScience Daily or NY Times

6) Watch a student created math video (One of my favorites is “Teach me How to Factor“). There are also a lot of them on Mathtrain.TV

7) Explore some math glogs about the topic we are studying

8 ) Explore some real world applications of Algebra on Yummy Math.

9) Show an incorrectly solved problem and ask the students to find the error(s).  I can use Common Algebra Mistakes or use the document camera to project a problem worked out already by a student (keeping the student anonymous).

10) Use it for some “tech talk”. I often want some time to talk about privacy settings or need a few minutes get feedback about a new feature on our website.

11) I can introduce Ten Marks. I have already set the class up with accounts but haven’t had a chance to show them around yet.

12) We can use Interactive Math to explore a concept we are studying.

 

Have any additional ideas? Please share!

9 Comments

  1. I do not have any new ideas to post at the moment, but I just wanted to say thank you for having a plan to make these 5 extra minutes productive and potentially powerful for your students. If only more teachers were this intentional and thoughtful.

    Thank you!

    Reply

  2. Great post! Certainly something we’re all thinking a lot about.

    The real challenge is to be purposeful and creative with the time and not just let the class bleed into five more minutes. The time should be seen as a gift, not a hardship.

    problem solving and teamwork – that’s where I’d go

    Reply

  3. For me this time is great in my Spanish C classes as it gives me the time (I never seem to have) to introduce the homework and answer questions about the instructions in their workbooks (that are in Spanish)for that night. This way there is less confusion about the assignments and hopefully homework time can be more productive!

    Reply

  4. […] Lorri Carrol What can you do with 5 minutes? In response to the unprecedented number of snow days this year, instead of amending our school vacations or adding days to the end of the year, our Administration made the decision to add 5 minutes to each class period. The five minutes per period amounts to approximately 6.5 days of school. When I first heard of the plan, I thought…[MORE] […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

