#NAISAC13 here I come!

I am SO excited for NAIS 2013. I have been looking forward to this for a very long time… on the way home from NAISAC11, I set a goal  to present at an NAIS conference, but knew I couldn’t swing a trip to the west coast for 2012. When I saw that 2013 was in  Philly, I was in! I had some ideas for presentations and threw some out to some twitter “friends”. I feel so grateful that “To Flip or Not to Flip: Practical Lessons Learned” was accepted (Friday, 1:30- 2:30).  Looking forward to seeing/meeting Jason Kern and Chris Bigenho, my co-presenters, in person!

online commmunity

Organizers have done an amazing job with pre-conference buildup and the online community is very robust. Thanks, Chris Bigenho, for all your work on this.  And this year, with wifi, I think the online community is going to be on fire!

I downloaded the NAIS AC 2013 app. It’s awesome. I remember feeling overwhelmed with the program book in 2011… no more! The app organizes presentations by time, allows you to organize your schedule, track exhibitors, get info about speakers, follow the twitter feed for the “back channel”, and much more!

photo 4

When I first downloaded the app, and went to the workshop listing, I was wishing for the names of the presenters (not a huge deal, but I wished for it). Guess what? Next time I went to the app, I was prompted for an update… and the presenters were there! Nothing like your wishes coming true! So, I have been reading through the descriptions trying to plan my days and I realize that I have a huge problem. I want to be in three places at once during several time slots. Not a bad problem to have.

Pat Bassett’s session Greatness: 25 Factors Great Schools Have in Common is on my list. Hope they chose a large venue for it. It will be packed, I am sure!

I just registered for the #edsocialmedia tweetup on Wednesday at 7pm and I”m hoping to meet up with some Twitter friends and spend some f2f time.

I am also hoping that a bunch of #isedchat folks will want to meet, in person, at our normally scheduled time (9pm Thursdays) to join in with the online discussion. This week’s chat topic is “What have you learned today?” and it will be moderated by @srinaldi. (THANK YOU!)

SO… an exciting week lies ahead. I am ready for the learning and sharing… and brain overload. Bring it on!

2 Comments

  1. […] #NAISAC13 here I come! By Lorri Carroll I am SO excited for NAIS 2013. I have been looking forward to this for a very long time… on the way home from NAISAC11, I set a goal  to present at an NAIS conference, but knew I couldn’t swing a trip to the west coast for 2012. When I saw that 2013 was in  Philly, I was in! I had some ideas for presentations and threw some out to some twitter “friends”. I feel so grateful that…[MORE] […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

