Today I was a 5th Grader #shadowastudent Day

After getting snowed out twice, I finally was able to shadow a student! Today, I spent the day as a fifth grader. Here are a few quick thoughts:

  1. I can survive for 7 hours without my phone.
  2. Even though I ate breakfast, I was hungry by 9am. Snack wasn’t until 10am.
  3. Taking a quiz when you don’t study is really uncomfortable — This happened to me when I got to Science and had to take a quiz on open and closed circuits. (EEK!)
  4. Desks are super uncomfortable, even for someone 5 feet tall. I can’t imagine what it’s like for kids who are taller. You can’t cross your legs or sit criss-cross applesauce. Who sits with their feet flat on the floor?
  5. I can still open a combination lock (thanks to my training at I.S.24).
  6. Just when I got into painting with watercolors in art or building with Keva blocks in library, class was over. BUMMER!
  7. I learned that Deborah Sampson was a Revolutionary War hero who disguised herself as a man to fight in the Continental Army (women weren’t allowed). When she was hit by a bullet, she dug it out of her leg with a pen knife so no one figured out her cover. #YouGoGirl
  8. Being forced to exercise is GOOD sometimes. And, I still know the rules for Volleyball. (Thanks, Sue Shep!)
  9. Recess is fun! I haven’t played freeze tag in many, many years. Swings are fun, too.
  10. I still have a lot more to process but I need a nap. I am too old for 5th grade!

IMG_4817

Leave a Reply

